How I became an Eraserheads fan

July 18, 2008 at 9:43 pm 4 comments

I started receiving my own money when I was 12. It was from a monthly stipend I had during my four school years studying in a science high school.

At that young age, I learned how to appropriate where my money goes, which was mostly spent on breakfast, lunch, and dinner. However, I also had my set of indulgences: a pint of ice cream on a weekend (which I would finish in just one sitting), books, and music records.Among these three, the most influental was music.

Anyway, to give you a backgrounder, my musical tastes between the ages 2 to 12 evolved from Batibot’s “Alin Ang Naiba”, to Manilyn Reynes’ and Sheryl Cruz’s repertoire (remember Mr. Disco and Mr. Dreamboy?), to the kundimans, broadway musicals, and classical music (thanks to my piano and voice teachers).

Then, one uneventful morning at school, my classmate, Charmaine, came up to me and told me about this song she heard called “Ligaya”. She was raving about it. Kanami daw. Naturally, I got curious, so, that weekend, I bought my first ever pinoy band album.

That album was called “ultraelectromagneticpop” by a then ’emerging-into-the-mainstream’ band named the Eraserheads. During that time, I think I bought it (cassette) for 150 pesos (or was it 100?). It quickly became my favorite. Playing it over and over in my dormitory room until I had memorized each song.

The following year, I got CiRcuS (my fave). Then, Cutterpillow in 1995. This was the last Eraserheads album I bought during my teen years. (Ten years later, I bought the “ultraelectromagneticjam” album, which was some kind of an early tribute. It wasn’t the same.)

This unassuming band rocked my world when I was 13 and I remained a fan years after. Their songs gave me one of the best memories of my life.This is the reason why I still have “Ligaya” in my current playlist.

=============

Years after disbanding, the Eraserheads will hold a “one night only” reunion concert on August 30, 2008. I wanted to go but I can’t. Aaah! I want to cry!

Entry filed under: childhood memories, music. Tags: , , , , , , .

“Namets” Schedule in Cinemalaya Alleluia by Alejandro Consolacion as Performed by UPSA

4 Comments Add your own

  • […] | ah! Eraserheads Reunion Concert rockersworld.com » Eraserheads Reunion Concert is Confirmed How I became an Eraserheads fan « The Absentee Negrense Nothing found for Eraserheads-reunion-concert-this-august-2008 Music Lives at TheFilipinoWeb […]

  • 2. Renee  |  September 14, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    Hi Manang Ta! May next pa namang concert daw. Sana andito ka na nun. =)

  • 3. carlo de guzman  |  May 29, 2009 at 12:39 am

    may 29, 2009

    i was 15 when i bought my very first cassette tape witch is the eraserheads cuttepillow album.i was amazed by the songs specialy ang huling el bimbo.and at that time i’d become a fan of the band.every time that i have a m0ney im always thinking of buying tapes of eheads.year after year im waiting for a new album of that band.and so i completed the albums realesed – ultaraelectromagneticpop..circus..cutterpillow..banana type(ep)..fruitcake(ep)..fruitcake(lp)..sticker happy..aloha milkyway..carbon stereo oxide and the album of ely buendia (wanted bedspacer).the eheads influence me to play guitar.so at the age of 15 i learned how to play guitar.after all these years im a big fan of ely buendia buddy zabala raimund marasigan and marcus adoro..the 4 guys who makes the pinoy rock music of 90’s alive.even if they will not be together again after that final set concert im still your n0. 1 fan ERASERHEADS.. I LOVE YOU GUYS . .

  • 4. arch-jean  |  September 9, 2009 at 11:10 am

    weew,,!! i realy love e-heads since i was a kid,,!tel now,,e-heads influence me to learned guitar too.love you guys,,!

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Petsa

July 2008
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Ang kadamuon sang paglingling

  • 204,112 hits

ClusterMaps

Mga Litrato Halin sa Flickr

Lakbayan


My Lakbayan grade is C!

How much of the Philippines have you visited? Find out at Lakbayan!

Created by Eugene Villar.