Quick Avocado Salad

November 9, 2008 at 12:35 am 3 comments

Last week, I was craving for a nice fresh bowl of guacamole. My tongue glands have this TexMex thing going on lately. (It made me buy a can of guacamole flavored Pringles.)

Anyway, off to the market , I went. (And to the supermarket, and yet another supermarket). Alas, I couldn’t find any coriander nor any chili but since I had avocados already, I decided to just improvise.

I had to satisfy my craving. I have to. (You know how it feels, right?)

So, yeah, I made something. I don’t think it can be called guacamole though, but it was close.

Therefore, I’m calling this, “Quick Avocado Salad.”

I got:

  • 2 ripe avocados (purplish in color)
  • red onion ( I only used a quarter of a bulb, even less)
  • a bunch of parsley (Instead of the coriander/cilantro. I think they’re plant cousins or something.)
  • tomatoes ( What I had were cherry tomatoes. I probably used 4 or 5, I forgot.)
  • 1 lemon
  • salt
  • pepper

What I did:

  1. I coarsely mashed the avocados, diced the red onions, and chopped my parsley.
  2. I mixed all three in a bowl, then added some freshly squeezed lemon juice, some salt, and sprinkled some pepper to taste.
  3. De-pulped and chopped tomatoes were mixed in last, just before I ate it.

Here’s how it looked like. πŸ™‚ Healthy, brimming with fresh goodness!

avocado salad

P.S.

I set aside some for experimental purposes. (Again?) What I did was, I mixed in a spoonful of plain yogurt to make a dip. I paired it with some Cheezy Doritos while watching “House M.D.” re-runs. Good times!

Entry filed under: food. Tags: , , , .

Moist Choco Cake Experiment Christmas Bazaars Schedule 2008

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ifoundme  |  November 11, 2008 at 9:43 am

    i have been craving for this one. i’ll try your version

  • 2. edzmaya  |  November 11, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    hope you’ll satisfy your craving, too.

  • 3. coolwaterworks  |  November 11, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    sus, gin-gutom man ko bah…. nabal-an ko lang sa avocado kay himoon shake, or i-mash kag butangan sugar kag condensed milk… πŸ™‚

    gin-print ko actually recipe mo… tilawan ko ni kon makapuli naman ko sa negros… πŸ™‚

    Coolwaterworks

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Petsa

November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Ang kadamuon sang paglingling

  • 187,118 hits

ClusterMaps

Mga Litrato Halin sa Flickr

Squirrel in the undergrowth D50_9462.jpg

Peek

Selsey Life Boat Station

More Photos

Lakbayan


My Lakbayan grade is C!

How much of the Philippines have you visited? Find out at Lakbayan!

Created by Eugene Villar.

