And I dabbled with quiche…

May 5, 2009 at 12:17 pm 3 comments

Four years ago, on one of our trips to France, a host family served us an unfamiliar dish for dinner. It was some kind of a savory pie made of eggs, cheese, and greens (which I later found out to be spinach). I asked our host what that dish was called and she told me, they called it quiche. It was a regional specialty and it was delicious!

After that pleasant gastronomic experience, I took a mental note on replicating the dish as one of my experimental goals.

Finally, yesterday, I decided to give it a try. I took a recipe from the net, scanned the essentials, and improvised.

— QUICHE—

half  a bunch of spinach (around 7 to 8 stalks)

1 clove garlic

half of medium sized onion

about 1oo grams of shredded torokeru cheese (i’m in japan… but the recipes called for feta and sometimes cheddar)

2 eggs

about 1/4 cup of milk

salt and pepper to taste

For the pie crust: 1 1/2 cups of all purpose flour, 1/2 cup of butter, about 2 tbsp water about 1 tsp salt and sugar

1. First I made my pie crust. Chilled it for about 45 mins. Rolled it out and prebaked in the oven at 180 deg. C for about 20 minutes.

2. Then, I made the filling. Sauteed the onions, garlic, and spinach in butter and added some of the cheese.

3. I scooped the filling ito the prebaked pie crust.

4. I beat the eggs, milk, salt, pepper and poured it onto the pie crust. I mixed it around a bit for the filling to go everywhere in the pie.

5. I preheated the oven to 190 deg. C and baked the quiche for around 15 minutes.

6. I sprinkled some of the cheese on top, and baked it again for another 30 to 45 minutes or so. Just until you see the center set.

And the result?

Tada! (Not perfect looking, but it really tasted nice.)

Entry filed under: food, recipe. Tags: , , , , .

Name this seaweed. Cereals w/ strawberries or Strawberries w/ cereals?

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jinoe  |  May 5, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    Ahhh.. quiche. I first read about it being mentioned in one of my favorite comic book, Bone. So that is how it looks like.

  • 2. coolwaterworks  |  May 5, 2009 at 7:22 pm

    Yummy! Makagulutom…

    Welcome back Edz…

  • 3. edzmaya  |  May 5, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    🙂 Hello again blogging world!😀

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Petsa

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Ang kadamuon sang paglingling

  • 183,254 hits

ClusterMaps

Mga Litrato Halin sa Flickr

The firsts lights

Lago di Braies

Survivor Mode

More Photos

Lakbayan


My Lakbayan grade is C!

How much of the Philippines have you visited? Find out at Lakbayan!

Created by Eugene Villar.

