Hagdan hagdang Palayan Part – 2: Trekking to Batad

December 5, 2011 at 1:43 am 1 comment

In my previous post, I talked about our journey from Manila up to the Batad saddle. Now, I will tell you about our trek to Batad.

I got this feeling of a different kind of excitement, the moment I got out of the jeepney in the saddle. The feeling was like “This is it!”. You know how that feels like, in some way or another, right?

In the saddle, there was this little store, selling all sorts of essentials (and trinkets) for visitors like me.

I figured the trek will not be that easy since they were renting these sticks out for 10 pesos each. You return them when you get back. I was considering getting one, however I decided not to since I don’t want the extra weight with me. I figured, I can just pick up some lightweight sticks along the way (which I did).

The trail started out rocky. Then, there were fallen trees, landslides, spring water, cement… I didn’t take any pictures since I was concentrating on not falling down the cliff. Hehe.

On our group’s first stop, I took in this view. It was enough to let me forget the long walk ahead.

After more than hour walking downhill, we finally saw welcome signs of different accommodations. This could just mean one thing. We are nearing our destination!

A few minutes after the signages,  I looked up to see how far we have walked down. Dom pointed up and said, “That’s the saddle. That’s where we have left off earlier.”  I was like, “Where there?”

I zoomed my camera and voila. I saw the little store! I thought, “So we have walked THAT far?! I think have never walked that far down a mountain in my entire life.”  Then suddenly, a wave of “Oh-No-We’re-Going-Back-Up-There-Tommorrow!” feeling engulfed me.

We turned another bend a few minutes later, and this view greeted us. I felt rejuvenated once again! This is my first glimpse of our wonderful rice terraces.

Magnificent isn’t it?

After that beautiful welcoming sight and after about an hour and a half of trekking, we finally arrived in Batad. First things first, we have to register at the Tourist Information Center.

After registration we went straight to our accommodation, Simon’s Inn.

Our weary bodies were rewarded by this sight from the inn’s balcony.

The Batad Rice Terraces, the ampitheater style rice terraces were carved from the Ifugao mountains around 2000 years ago.

Next up (Part 3), will be about our walk to the village below.

Entry filed under: batad, experiences, places, travels. Tags: , , , , .

Hagdan hagdang Palayan Part – 1: Journey to Batad The Making of our DIY Family Trip to Siem Reap-HCMC

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. mrmildmanneredunlessprovoked  |  December 30, 2011 at 9:42 am

    Waaaa!! I lost 5 pounds during the whole trek!! And madam Patel doesn’t look haggard during the whole trek (sha na ang ms cool personlaity! LoL!)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Petsa

December 2011
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Ang kadamuon sang paglingling

  • 183,254 hits

ClusterMaps

Mga Litrato Halin sa Flickr

The firsts lights

Lago di Braies

Survivor Mode

More Photos

Lakbayan


My Lakbayan grade is C!

How much of the Philippines have you visited? Find out at Lakbayan!

Created by Eugene Villar.

