Rugged Rocky Shores – Sisiman, Mariveles, Bataan

April 8, 2012 at 12:09 am 12 comments

I found out about Sisiman Bay while searching for possible prenuptial pictorial locations in Bataan.

I was “googling” around for rugged shorelines in Mariveles town, and Sisiman Bay always came up among photography forums. I checked out some photographs taken by enthusiasts posted online, and indeed, the place was picture perfect.

A remnant of a light house used to stand at the edge of the rocky shore. This fragile monument had been the singular subject among photographers who visit Sisiman. Unfortunately though, the structure gave in and fell during typhoon Pedring in 2011.

I felt sad when I found out that the lighthouse wasn’t there anymore. Nevertheless, I still pestered my fiance in bringing me to Sisiman, because I may have fallen in love with the notion of visiting a place in which, perhaps, only a handful knew of.

Sisiman Bay did not disappoint, just as I imagined it to be, and more. In fact, when time permits, I wanted to have our postnuptial pictorials there. (As we never did the prenup in Bataan. Instead, we shot it in Bacolod.)

Here are some snapshots of the place. Do visit. The locals are very pleasant, too.🙂

 The highway going to Mariveles.

 The local industry was fishing. I love their boats. They look festive.


Kids of Sisiman.


An abandoned structure. This serves as the “parking lot”, though we didn’t make use of this anymore. The kids would open the gate and offer you the space for a small token. They’d “watch” your vehicle while they enjoy themselves, playing.🙂

 Beautiful tree on top of a hill.

 The beach.

Roofless cottage. I suppose the cogon roof was blown away by the typhoon.

 It was already ten in the morning when we arrived. It was very hot since the place lacks shade, but the water was cool and perfectly blue, that we really didn’t mind the temperature.

 The shore reminds me of the “cantelado” shoreline off the Mediterranean Sea in Torrevieja, Alicante, Spain. I was so tempted to swim, but I didn’t have any swimwear, nor extra clothes, with me.


We have to content ourselves with dipping our feet in the cold seawater while taking in the view and savoring the sea breeze.

 I love Sisiman so much, even the weeds are beautiful.

Entry filed under: bataan. Tags: , , , , .

Hagdang hagdang Palayan Part 3: Visiting the Village Baphuon and Phimeanakas

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Frank  |  April 8, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    Hi, thanks for this article about our hometown. really appreciate your nice comments about the place…

  • 2. mong  |  April 8, 2012 at 2:37 pm

    ive stayed in mariveles for 18 years and did enjoy the beauty of it. i left the awesome’MARIA VELEZ’ and i thought for myself, someday, i will retire in there. those pictures shown are perfect and should be posted in the DOT website.

  • 3. edzmaya  |  April 9, 2012 at 12:25 am

    Thank you very much for visiting my site, Mong.

  • 4. edzmaya  |  April 9, 2012 at 12:25 am

    Hi Frank, it is beautiful there. Thanks for dropping by.

  • 5. Ray Reyes  |  April 9, 2012 at 3:10 am

    Thank you all who visited my place and your appreciation is a pride for us…..for those who want to visit and see the place, you are most welcome! We are so happy to see you around…. A warm welcome to historic place of Sisiman

    Sisiman has a hidden beauty of its own ready to be explored!

  • 6. Lolita Borja  |  April 9, 2012 at 10:22 am

    We’ve set up residence in Mariveles and lived there for over 20 yrs before migrating to another country. The place so fascinated us that we keep going back there for our respite from the stressful life in a far place. It is still the place where we’d love to retire and spend a quiet and peaceful existence.

  • 7. edzmaya  |  April 9, 2012 at 7:21 pm

    Hi Ray and Lolita. Sisiman’s charm is different and I like it very much. We were the only ones who visited the place on a Saturday morning. It was very peaceful. Thanks for reading my post.

  • 8. coolwaterworks  |  April 11, 2012 at 7:04 pm

    Hi Edz… First off, congrats on sounding the wedding bells…🙂
    Second, you have very nice pictures here…🙂
    And yes, the place is picture perfect… I imagine myself having a field day there if I’m close to it…🙂

  • 9. mong  |  April 11, 2012 at 10:03 pm

    edz, m bringing my friends in mariveles and some parts of bataan this april.

  • 10. Filipina Explorer  |  January 15, 2014 at 5:04 pm

    It’s sad they don’t have the lighthouse anymore. I saw a billboard of this on NLEX and would have wanted to see the lighthouse. Stunning photos, by the way. Question: Is the hill accessible from the road? Or do I have to tread it from the sea side? ‘Cause I have a toddler with me when I travel and usually I travel alone with her on weekends. Would like to know my options on how to approach that. Thanks!

  • 11. tagabacolod  |  January 16, 2014 at 4:24 pm

    Hi Filipina Explorer, thanks for visiting. The hill is right beside the “parking lot”. I haven’t climbed it but I suppose there is an accessway since there is a grotto on top. The locals are just nearby, they can help.🙂

  • 12. Filipina Explorer  |  January 30, 2014 at 5:25 pm

    Thanks for the tip and info! Appreciate it🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Petsa

April 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Ang kadamuon sang paglingling

  • 183,254 hits

ClusterMaps

Mga Litrato Halin sa Flickr

The firsts lights

Lago di Braies

Survivor Mode

More Photos

Lakbayan


My Lakbayan grade is C!

How much of the Philippines have you visited? Find out at Lakbayan!

Created by Eugene Villar.

