The Birth Story of Baby Gian

December 8, 2013 at 8:13 am Leave a comment

November 29, 2013. 5:30 a.m. My water broke.

It felt like a dream at first. After all, baby and I were still at 36 weeks and 3 days according to my LMP. We were still scheduled for our ultrasound on December 9. A million other things were running through my mind at that moment, but one thought clouded everything, “I am definitely giving birth today.”

I jumped out of bed, ran to the bathroom, instantly rousing my husband from his sleep. I calmly told him that I think my water broke. It was him who panicked! I had to put some sense into him, while I took a shower and cleaned myself. “Call the doctor.” “Call my mother.” ” Call my brother, my sister.” “You take your shower.” “Pack your bag to the hospital.” “Don’t forget your wallet.” “Take a large trash bag to protect the car seat from my water.”

By 6:30 a.m., I was in the labor room, hooked to the baby monitor, waited for my contractions to come. I was still able to eat a heavy breakfast and a light lunch.

4:00 p.m., after several tv movies and morning shows, my contractions were still mild to moderate, dilation was only up to 4 cm. I can still smile.

Because of my slow progress, my doctor decided to induce my contractions. Boy oh boy, did it become painful! I was starting to dread every contraction. I had chills.

Come 8:00 p.m., I was still not progressing at 5 cm dilation. In addition, my baby’s heartbeat was dipping, which was not a good sign. I was taken out of the medication, but still baby’s heartbeat dipped.

Doctor decided stat CS. I signed a couple of consent papers (while in pain!), and off to the operating room, I went.

I was given the spinal block, then I was out for some time. I could hear the doctors’ and the nurses’ voices but I was out because I couldn’t remember when they started cutting me. I became alert when a small cute baby was placed to my cheek. I kissed him. They took our first picture. Then I started to shake uncontrollably (chills!).

Our baby Gian Angelo was born at 8:56 p.m. It was the happiest moment of my life.

Gian Angelo's birth

Entry filed under: events, experiences. Tags: , .

Fino Pre-Christmas Sale 2013

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Petsa

December 2013
M T W T F S S
« Nov    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Ang kadamuon sang paglingling

  • 183,254 hits

ClusterMaps

Mga Litrato Halin sa Flickr

The firsts lights

Lago di Braies

Survivor Mode

More Photos

Lakbayan


My Lakbayan grade is C!

How much of the Philippines have you visited? Find out at Lakbayan!

Created by Eugene Villar.

